FAQs

1. What is digital TV, and what are the differences among high definition television (HDTV), standard definition television (SDTV) and the conventional analogue television?
To have a full picture about the broadcasting methods and resolution of image on TV, please refer to the information provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA)
2. How do I tune my television set to Radio Television Hong Kong's (RTHK) digital terrestrial TV (DTT) channels?
Under normal circumstances, the DTT receivers (including the set-top boxes and the integrated digital televisions (iDTVs)) will be tuned to RTHK's DTT channels with the display of channel numbers after the "auto searching" function has been properly performed. In case of doubt, you should contact the retailers/suppliers concerned for enquiries.
3. What does building management need to do to receive RTHK Ch31-33?
To enable the occupants in the premises to receive RTHK's DTT services, communal aerial broadcast distribution (CABD) systems are required to be upgraded to include the receiving capability of Channel 62. For the technical details, please visit website of Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA): http://www.ofca.gov.hk/en/industry_focus/broadcasting/television_broadcasting/
4. How to find out whether my estate/building can pick up RTHK DTT signals?
Under normal circumstances, any estate/building that is within the coverage area of transmitting stations and has been able to receive DTT broadcast of other TV stations, is presumably capable to receive RTHK's signals. For the estimated coverage of DTT service, please visit the coverage area of RTHK's DTT web page and also refer to the following web page of OFCA:
http://app1.ofca.gov.hk/apps/ubs/map.asp
5. What's the cost of upgrading and installing public antenna?
Charges by different contractors for the work on public antenna system vary. Costs may differ due to the size of the residential estate, number of floors of each building and complexity of the work. It is recommendable to obtain more than one quotation for evaluation. (In general, the cost for installing DTT system falls within the range of slightly over a thousand to tens of thousand dollars. The cost should include hardware like DTT antenna, mast amplifier, digital equalizer and digital power processing).
6. Could RTHK provide technical advice/support on receiving DTT?
Due to the limited resources of RTHK, we cannot provide comprehensive technical support. However, if you encounter any problems, you are most welcome to drop us a note so that we can take into account that for our future improvement in broadcasting quality.
7. My property management company has already installed and retuned the in-building CABD systems for DTT of RTHK, but the screen image is not clear. What is the reason?
The quality of reception of DTT signal also depends on the facilities and equipment within the domestic premises. Factors such as old-model set-top box, degenerated antenna cable or TV socket plate and multi-splitters would significantly weaken the signal. For useful technical information, please visit the following web page.
http://www.ofca.gov.hk/en/consumer_focus/education_corner/publicity/index_id_7.html
8. I used to be able to watch RTHK's DTT channels through our building's public antenna with good quality of picture. However, recently I found that the quality of the picture was not stable and pixelated images occurred. Is there anything wrong with RTHK's transmission?
RTHK's DTT signals have been broadcast within the parameters of the technical standards laid by OFCA. Our engineering department also carries regular field tests to detect any irregularities of signal transmission as well as continuously monitors the transmission. The unstable TV reception is mainly due to insufficient signal strength present at CABD System in a building, leading to poor signal quality. In a CABD System, after the television signals from off-air is received by the public antenna, the signals will be filtered, re-processed, re-combined, amplified and distributed over an in-building coaxial network. Both the signal strength and signal quality will be degraded and become unstable if there is no proper fine-tuning specifically to RTHK's off-air frequency channel and regular maintenance of the CABD System. It is recommended to report this incident to the building management office who should contact the public antenna contractor for investigation.
9. I am using standalone antenna and my area is under the coverage of transmission station, but why is the signal of RTHK's DTT weak while that of other TV stations are satisfactory?
TV households should note that the actual reception situation of a building or a house within the signal coverage area is susceptible to variations due to blockage and reflections of structures nearby, as well as other relevant environmental factors. The installation of the angle of the antenna may also affect the optimal quality of reception. It is advisable to seek the service of a qualified technician to adjust and reset the antenna installation.
10. Are Cable TV's subscribers able to watch RTHK's DTT channels?
To enable Cable TV's subscribers of those buildings that have already had their public antenna systems upgraded to smoothly receive RTHK's TV channels, RTHK has been working closely with Cable TV. By working out the technical issues and administrative arrangements, RTHK's DTT signals are directly fed to Cable TV's optical fibre system, and then, progressively the signals are transmitted to the residential estates which are currently connected to Cable TV. For the time being, most of the residential estates that are connected to Cable TV have already had their interconnection works finished. The Cable TV's subscribers in those residential estates will only need to perform an auto searching function then they will be able to watch RTHK's three DTT channels via common digital TV sets or digital TV set-top boxes.
11. How do Cable TV's subscribers know that their buildings can receive RTHK's TV channels?
If Cable TV's subscribers want to find out whether the address is able to watch RTHK TV Channels, please visit the following web page:
http://digitaltv.i-cable.com/dtt_check_main_step1.php
12. Is there any application requirement for using an IBCCDS channel for the delivery of RTHK's DTT service?
IBCCDS owners can decide on the number of and the exact IBCCDS channels to be used for the delivery of broadcasting, telecommunications and security services which reflect the preference and choice of the residents of the buildings. On the other hand, licensees of Satellite Master Antenna Television (SMATV) systems should seek prior approval from the OFCA for its use of IBCCDS channels in buildings. For more information about the use of IBCCDS channels, please visit the web page or contact the OFCA at 8102 4100 or in-bldg@ofca.gov.hk.
13. Why do tenants of the building need to bear the cost to upgrade the existing CABD system in order to receive the free TV?
For free TV service, users/tenants need not pay any fee to free-to-air TV broadcasters for receiving their free TV services directly picked up from off-air. On the other hand, CABD system is part of the building facilities usually owned by the Incorporated Owners (IOs) / BMOs for receiving and distributing TV broadcasting signals to building tenants. In this connection, in addition to maintenance fees for the normal operation of the CABD system, IOs/BMOs will need to upgrade their CABD systems at own cost in order to properly receive any new free TV service (such as RTHK's DTT service) from off-air and distribute it to the respective building tenants. The upgrade costs are usually paid by IOs/BMOs which will eventually be borne/shared by owners/tenants of the building concerned.
14. What are the contents on RTHK TV CH 33?
At present, RTHK TV Channel 33 relay the live feed of China Central Television Channel 1 (CCTV-1). All the broadcasting contents, including programme contents, transmission time, broadcast languages, bilingual broadcast and subtitles, are managed by China Central Television.

Contact Us

In case of any enquiry about the signals reception of RTHK DTT channels, please visit our DTT’s web page (http://rthk.hk/about/dtt/ways_e.htm) or contact us by phone at 3403 0431 or email to dtt@rthk.hk.

(Due to the considerable amount of incoming calls, not all the telephone inquiries will be attended by RTHK right away. Therefore, we greatly appreciate that you leave your contact details, so that we will get back to you as soon as possible.)

© rthk.hk

常见问题

1. 何谓数码电视?
如欲了解更多有关不同电视广播的制式及其解像度,请浏览通讯事务管理局办公室所提供的资料
2. 如何调校电视以接收港台数码地面电视频道?
在正常操作的情况下,数码地面电视接收器(包括机顶盒及综合数码电视)在执行 「自动搜寻」后,便会自动调较到港台数码地面电视频道,并显示频道编号。如有疑问,请向有关的零售商/供应商查询。
3. 大厦管业处需怎样才可接收港台31至33台的讯号?
为使大厦住户可接收港台数码地面电视服务,大厦公共天线系统须提升至兼备接收 62频道的功能。
电视用户可下载及参考"信件范本",向相关屋苑提出处理接收港台电视频道事宜。有关的技术详情,请浏览通讯事务管理局办公室(通讯办)网站:
http://www.ofca.gov.hk/tc/industry_focus/broadcasting/television_broadcasting/
4. 如何知道所住屋苑/大厦能接收到港台的讯号?
一般情况下,屋苑/大厦如果位处主要发射站的覆盖范围,而又接收到香港现有数码频道的讯号,皆有可能接收到港台的讯号。关于估计覆盖范围,详情请浏览数码地面电视广播网页的覆盖范围及参考以下通讯办的网站: http://app1.ofca.gov.hk/apps/ubs/map.asp
5. 如要更新或提升屋苑/大厦公共电视的接收系统,接收港台数码地面电视广播,所需费用多少?
每间公共电视系统的承办商的收费不一,亦视乎屋苑的大少、大厦层数及工程的复杂程度而决定,建议用家征询多间承办商比较价钱。( 一般大厦加装数码电视系统价钱由仟余元至数万元以上不等,安装包括如数码天线、数码前置放大器、数码均衡器及数码功率放大器。)
6. 港台可提供接收数码地面电视广播的技术建议或支援吗?
由于港台的资源有限,所以暂未能提供全面性技术支援,如 阁下在接收讯号时,遇上任何问题,欢迎来函告知,作为日后改善广播质素之用。
7. 我的大厦管业处已更新及调校公共电视接收系统,接收港台数码地面电视广播,但画面仍然不清晰,原因何在?
家居电视机的视像质素会受其接收配套影响,而机顶盒的型号、电视天线、天线揷座过旧或选用多头分配器,均有可能令讯号变弱。如欲获取更多有关资料,请浏览以下网址:
http://www.ofca.gov.hk/tc/consumer_focus/education_corner/publicity/index_id_7.html
8. 我以往可透过大厦的公共天线系统收看港台的电视频道,画面清晰稳定,但最近画面质素欠佳,时有「起格」的情况,是否港台的电视讯号出现问题?
港台发射的数码地面电视讯号是遵照通讯事务管理局办公室厘定的电视广播技术标准而制定,港台工程部时刻监察及定期作出检测讯号传送的情况,以避免讯号出现异常。至于电视接收讯号时出现不稳定的情况,主要是由于大厦的公共天线系统 (CABD System) 的讯号强度不足,导致讯号质量下降。就大厦的公共天线系统而言,当天线系统接收大气电波中的电视讯号后、讯号会经过滤、再处理、重新整合、放大和最终在同轴网络上传送。如果没有就港台电视频道作出适当的系统调校和定期维俢保养,讯号强度和讯号质量都有可能减弱和出现不稳定的情况。故此,我们建议受影响的观众通知大厦的物业管理处,再联络公共天线保养商进行调查。
9. 我现用独立天线接收电视讯号,安装地点亦是发射站覆盖的范围,为何港台的讯号较其他电视台弱?
电视用户须注意,在讯号覆盖范围内的大厦或独立屋的实际讯号接收情况,可能受到邻近建筑物的阻挡和反射,以及其他相关环境因素而影响。此外,独立天线的安装角度也会影响接收画面的质素。如遇以上问题,可找合资格的技师协助调校。
10. 有线电视用户能否收看港台的电视频道呢?
为了令大厦公共天线已提升之有线电视用户可以顺利接收港台电视频道,本台已与有线电视以讯号互连方式,透过技术和行政安排把港台电视频道的讯号传送至有线电视的光纤系统,再逐步传送到有线电视服务的屋苑。现时大部分接驳有线电视的屋苑已完成讯号互连工程,这些屋苑的有线电视用户只需透过一般数码电视机或数码电视解码器,重新追台,即可收看到港台电视的三条频道。
11. 有线电视用户如何知道该大厦可收看港台电视的频道?
如有线电视用户欲查询有关地址是否可收看港台的电视频道,请浏览以下网页:
http://digitaltv.i-cable.com/dtt_check_main_step1.php
12. 若要透过大厦内同轴电缆分配系统接收港台数码地面电视的讯号,有何申请资格?

大厦内同轴电缆分配系统(俗称「公共天线系统」)拥有人可视乎大厦住户的喜好及选择,自行决定使用多少和哪些公共天线系统频道,以传送广播、电讯和保安服务。

另卫星电视共用天线的持牌者,则须向通讯办事先申请,方可变动大厦内同轴电缆系统。有关详情,请浏览通讯办的网址:

或透过以下方法联络通讯办:
电话:8102 4100
电邮:in-bldg@ofca.gov.hk

13. 为什么大厦住户需要承担提升现有公共天线系统的工程费以收看免费电视?

免费电视的意思是用户/住户不需要就接收免费电视服务而向广播机构缴付费用而可享用免费电视的服务。

然而,大厦的公共天线系统属大厦设施之一,通常由业主立案法团或管业处拥有,透过系统接收讯号,并传送到大厦内的住户,基于此关系,业主立案法团或管业处除有责任缴付费用保养系统运作正常之外,亦要为大厦公共天线系统的提升工程承担费用,以便接收新的免费电视讯号 (如港台的数码地面电视频道) ,传递至大厦内所有住户。一般情况下,业主立案法团或管业处需支付提升工程的费用,此等费用则由业户或住客摊分。

14. 港台电视33频道有什么节目内容?
现时港台电视33频道直接转播中央电视台综合频道 (CCTV-1 综合)。频道内所有播放安排 (例如:节目内容、时间、广播语言、双语广播、字幕等)皆由中央电视台负责。

联络我们

如对接收港台数码地面电视频道的讯号有任何查询,请浏览港台数码地面电视广播的网页(http://rthk.hk/about/dtt/ways.htm) 或致电 3403 0431 或电邮至 dtt@rthk.hk与我们联络。

(由于询问电话众多,本台或未能即时接听所有电话查询,查询者可于留言信箱中提供联络资料 (包括姓名及电话) 予本台。本台将尽快与您联络,请谅!)

© rthk.hk